“Know any single girls?”

I paused. No, not really. Maybe I’m just getting to that age, but it seems that most people I know are not single anymore.

He asked Pete me over dinner recently, and it seemed it was painful for him to do so. I suppose asking for dates has the lemony tart taste of desperation.

I told him I’d check my list of Facebook friends. But off the top of my head, nope, the only single lady I know would not be his match made in heaven.

by Brandt Kurowski

I asked him what he’s been doing lately in his free time. Answer: Reading, playing video games.

“Hmmm…. Well you know it’s not going to be easy to meet people from your living room,” I said. “You need to get out more.”

This brought up the question, what to do. I gave him my standard “list of ways to meet people in Raleigh.”

But it’s tough. The holidays are over, which means no more parties that allow chance meetings with beautiful strangers. It’s cold and gray, making parks and other serendipitous meeting locations a no-go.

Do our hearts go into hibernation?

Cleary, his hasn’t.

I guess there is always the library or coffee shop, but that takes effort. My hunch is that Pete isn’t looking to put a lot of effort into meeting Ms. Right.

by Dano

Thinking back on my relationships, most of them started in the spring, summer or fall. Maybe, like plants, dating dies off in the winter, only to start fresh again in spring.

As Alfred Lord Tennyson said, “In the spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love.”

For Pete’s sake, I’m scanning over my list of friends – just in case one them is ready to bloom a little early.

Besides, it’s February. There must be plenty of single women out there thinking about love this month.

Anyone?

