OUCH.

After a lovely weekend with Kevin, my bank account is feeling the pinch. When I was single earlier this year, I pondered that it was cheaper (at least for me) to be in a relationship.

Not true. At least, not this time. Frank, the guy I dated for a year here in Raleigh, was older, established, and had a few bucks in his pocket. He pretty much paid for everything when we went out. Insisted on it.

dollar_bill

by Noellium

Now, I’m dating someone my age, and like me, he’s working hard to save, buy new toys (we both want new laptops), pay off debt, plan a trip or two and eventually not be forced  to drink PBR when you really want the Saison Dupont.

In these economic times, Kevin and I have cut back on the drinking all together, pinching a few pub pennies in favor of staying home.

Apparently, single people are, too. At least according  to this story in the Economist. Granted, it’s a British publication, but hey, it’s a global society so don’t knock my references. Anyway, online dating has hit a surge, and they theorize the recession has something to do with that.

Online dating gets you past the job-hobby-past history without blowing $80 on drinks and dinner — at least that’s the idea. Then again, you’re forced to online date.

Singles or couples: are you finding ways to cut back on the cost of the dating game?

