I saw this post on Boing Boing the other day about a man who has a virtual girlfriend. He’s addicted. It’s a video sim and wives all over Japan are complaining that it’s interfering with their relationships.

In an interview, the man, a game engineer, says it seems so real, but he’s embarrassed by his actions.

“This is obviously a computer program, but this makes us really feel like there’s a girl inside the DS. It feels dangerous, like I might get sucked into this world.”

He talks about how it demanded enough of his time that he was in long conversations with the character.

“It’s pretty damn embarrassing. I think if I wasn’t able to come back from that world, I would have run out of things to talk about with my real wife. I can understand why some couples would get in a fight over that.”

I just found this fascinating, because to me it’s cheating, even if it’s not a real person. You’re not sharing your life with your wife anymore; you’re not being honest.

Luckily, he had a woman to come back to.

Would you ever play this type of game? Or have you? I feel like I should give it a try just to see … but maybe if it’s that addictive I should eat some chocolate instead!

