♫ Should I stay or should I go now? If I go there will be trouble … if I stay there will be double. ♫

Leslie sat there, humming this little diddy, wondering what to do.longdistancecomms01_003370_tns

OK, she wasn’t really humming, more like crying. And she knew what she needed to do, but that didn’t make her choice any easier.

It was time to dump her hot, amazing boyfriend.

He was going to be moving within a few months for another job — to far for long distance even if they were interested in trying it. He said they should keep dating until he left. She didn’t want to be the girl who dated him for something to do. If it’s not going to work out, it’s not going to work out. No sense in prolonging the inevitable.

So she broke up with him.

A few months later, the were back together. She’d run into him and he wanted her back. His job situation had changed. Insert blissfully happy few months here.

Then, a few weeks ago, he was offered an awesome job – this time in D.C. — and he will be moving out of the Triangle soon. Besides, she told me, “there were a few other things that led me to believe he wasn’t it.” And so, once again, it’s over.

Once again, she’s sad, but Leslie is a strong woman, and knows she made the right choice. Kudos to her. I’m the fool that stayed with a guy for four months after he moved. I spent my weekends driving the four hours between us to see him. All this after only a month of dating.

Then one day over the phone he tells me he’s “unhappy” and “depressed” and he doesn’t know what to do. This time, he’s the one humming the song, “Should I Stay or Should I go Now.”

These days, I know that’s code for “I want to breakup but I’m too chicken shit to just find my balls and say so.” But then, in my more naive times, I thought he just needed more space, or needed to see me. Weeks of drama, tears, arguing. He even got me a Valentine’s Day gift just to confuse me.

No more long distance for Suzanne, who is now a stronger woman for it. So Leslie, this is for you. You kick ass, and I’m proud of you and impressed.

