I’m brainstorming. And thinking.

I hang on his every word, listening for hints, clues, things he likes, dislikes. I even have a list going.

Kevin’s birthday is this month, and I’m not sure what to get him. Actually, I have a few ideas. Some I thought of on my own; some are things he suggested.

But it’s always nerve-wracking to come up with a good present for your boyfriend. He’s honestly the best boyfriend I’ve ever had, and we’re such a good match that I feel as though I should just automatically know what he wants.

Um, sort of. We tend to think alike, but what if he doesn’t like it? What if he already has one that I haven’t seen? What if … what if? The PRESSURE!

I obviously want him to think I’m the most stupendous girlfriend in the universe. He keeps telling me not to spend too much money.

“What if I told you the same thing for my birthday?”

“I wouldn’t listen,” he said.

“Exactly.”

In fact, for my birthday we’d been dating only a few weeks. I told him not to get me anything because we weren’t even sure where this was going. It didn’t make any sense to get me a present.

Did he listen? No. He bought me a fantastic travel book of places to see around the world.

I’ve got a great idea for a surprise though. I’m taking him someplace cool. But I still have to get him a gift to unwrap.

So I’m brainstorming. And thinking …

What’s the best gift you ever got for a significant other? What’s the best one you’ve received?

