Not long ago I heard a girl say she absolutely HAD to go home with someone to avoid driving home drunk. Sounded like a sort of Dumpster diving — rooting around in the trash bin and making do with something because you have to. Now, I’ve gone home with a few people but that certainly never occurred to me as a reason. Then again, when I really think about it, in college I went to a house to “sober up” after the bar, knowing full well it might lead to sexing up later.

Mike McCaffrey

Mike McCaffrey

Still, if you want to avoid slutting it out just to avoid the DWI here are a few other Triangle friendly suggestions for getting your patootie home safely. All of these have been in the news lately, which is why I mention them. I’d love to hear your feedback on these first two, since I haven’t tried either.

  • Taxi- Raleigh is discussing whether it needs rules for its Taxi services. Did you know there are more than 100 cab providers in the area? Right now, there aren’t a ton of regulations. In theory, I could slap a sticker on my SUV and start hauling drunk hipsters around. Your drunken stupidity might be saved on camera if one rule is approved. It’s actually a safety measure though. They’re also thinking about adding GPS systems.
  • Zingo – If you’re stumbling on the dance floor, just Zingo your way home.  You call them up, they arrive on a tiny scooter and stuff it in your trunk. Then they drive you home and hand you the keys, cruising off on their bikes with blinky orange lights. Pretty brilliant. It’s not super cheap: $10 plus $3 per mile plus tip. Still, $50 is cheaper than the lawyer fees.
  • The R-Line – Be eco friendly and safe all at the same time. This free hybrid bus tools around in a circular path downtown. It runs during the day, but it has basically become the drunk bus for those bar hopping around Glenwood and downtown. I feel as though this bus service is underrated, though I see more and more people taking advantage. I use it nearly every weekend, and I’m pleased to see many Raleigh visitors hopping aboard. Sadly, it may not be around forver. At least one of the current Raleigh mayoral candidates said he would get rid of this service if elected.
