As I aforementioned, a fourth gentleman had recently asked to add himself to the list of guys I’m dating.

When he asked to take me out, my first impulse was to say no. Aside from my epiphany (see Monday’s post), he and a friend of mine dated once upon a time.

I don’t know what rules other women have for dating, but to me, that can be a big deal.

Every guy we date has, of course, dated other women before. If he hasn’t, um, yikes! At this stage of my life, I’m running away from THAT guy.

So whatever pair of jeans you end up with has already been tried on by another woman. Why should it matter if your friend was among those who decided the fit wasn’t right?

I don’t know. Maybe it doesn’t matter. If I thought he was the one, I might not care so much.

What do you think? Would you date someone who had dated one of your friends? Is there a different standard for men and women on this issue?

