Karma smiled on me Tuesday; I had two phone calls from boys. Craig called.

We chatted briefly and finally set up a first date. I can hear the planes crashing now, like when Snoopy fights the Red Barron and goes down with a plume of smoke trailing behind his doghouse.

One might ask why I’m going. Answer: why not? The point of being single and young is to have fun, experiment. Is it bad karma to go out with him even though I don’t want to? Maybe.

But, don’t you want to know how it goes? Uh-huh, that’s what I figured.

Jim called, too. I actually missed his call because I was still at work and had stepped away from my desk (that’s secretary lingo for “in the bathroom”). Fate must agree that this was not a match made in heaven.

So today I sent him the “I’m just not that into you” email.

According to some of my pals, even an email in this case was extremely polite. Apparently, it’s more common to just never call someone again. Um, really? I thought I was an adult. Of

course, one of my prior boyfriends simply couldn’t tell me, “I don’t want to be with you,” but instead dragged it out for weeks with a “depression” story until I finally dumped him. That’s pathetic, and it made me angry, so I favor the direct approach. It’s good karma.

Sure, says one of my guys, but the no-call thing happens all the time. He’s downright surprised when people call to say they won’t make it to something. Now that’s depressing.

Also on Tuesday, the third speed date guy, Ryan, with whom I’ve exchanged several emails, finalized plans for a date this weekend. He’s the one I’m actually somewhat curious about.

But who knows? Maybe after we’re done, he will think, “Wow, that girl does a really annoying thing with her voice when she speaks. I’m not going to call her again.”

Karma bites like that sometimes.

