A male friend of mine perused my blog the other day and commented that it seems like all I think about is being single.

Um, duh — it’s a blog about single life in Raleigh. That’s not all I think about, but it’s what I blog about.

That got me thinking though, especially since I read “He’s Just Not That Into You” this week. When I finished, I felt as though authors Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo needed to add a chapter reminding women to go out and enjoy life, single or not.

Yes, we love men; we want one for our very own. But hey, when single, we should be out there living it up, loving life, exploring our hobbies, working toward our brilliant careers, not sitting around pining and wondering where we went wrong in our last relationship.

We often feel as though being single is like having a disease. Especially when your grandmother, who was married by 20, asks why you are still single at 27. Or when your 23-year-old cousin sends you a notice that she’s having her second child with her husband. But wtf?
It’s my damn life and I’ll live it how I want to. Neither my grandmother nor my cousin went to college, grad school or Europe. I did.

Sure, I still think about men. Some of us femme fatales have a tendency to obsesses and overanalyze about them. Maybe’s that the true disease, not being single in itself, but obsessing over that status.

Of course, some of my male friends do this too, agonizing just as much as I do about when to call, whether she will call back, where to go, what to wear. This despite Behrendt’s implication that men don’t think about women the same way until they meet the One Who Blows Them Away.

I find it encouraging.

I’m also glad that lately, I’ve been feeling free, not “single.”

So thanks, Greg, for reminding me that I’m a foxy lady who should wait for men to ask me out and that they will make the effort if they are, in fact, into me. I agree with all that.  Meanwhile, it’s time to be selfishly single and disease free.

What’s your favorite thing to do on the weekend when you’re single? Is it different when you’re in a relationship?

