First come the games, then comes the guilt.

I was thinking Monday night about my weekend of single freedom and I started to feel guilty. I have a tendency to do this, and it usually means I’m lying awake in bed because of it. Why should I feel guilty for kissing two different single men in one weekend – neither of whom expects anything more?

We women often think that men do this type of thing all the time. But does that make it right? Just because men play games, flirt with several women and maybe bed more than one a week, does that justify my behavior?

Or am I not really feeling guilt so much as concern? Some of my friends read this blog and know the people I write about. Maybe I’m feeling guilty because I hate to smear their names or impose the consequences of our actions upon them just because I can’t keep from blabbing about it on a blog.

I’m a firm believer in the “you made your bed, now lie in it” attitude. I’m 27 years old, which means I should be an adult. And being an adult means I should comport myself in a certain way.

On the other hand, life is short; this is my time to explore my wild side, and as anyone who knows me can testify to, I’m not exactly a wild child. I never was. Deep down, I’m a romantic and I’m looking for Mr. Right.

Meanwhile, Mr. Right Now is everywhere, each night I go out. And I can’t feel guilty for checking him out and maybe stealing a kiss once in awhile. I don’t think my friends will judge me for this behavior – hell, some are probably pleased and proud of it. Maybe we women need to just chill out and quit worrying so damn much.

Then again, it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. Or the respect of people she cares about.

Should I fear crossing the line? Or should I go forth unapologetically and explore?

I wonder – how common is it for single people of both sexes to play these games?

