Confession: I have a secret crush on a friend of mine.

It’s mild, like a salsa that has just a bit of tang in the middle of your sampling. But I can’t help but think of him a little bit each day. He’s one of those people everyone likes (especially women) and he has a naturally flirtatious manner. Therefore, I try not to read too much into his comments – even though I’m reduced to a giggling teenage schoolgirl when I speak with him.

Still, I don’t believe in dating friends. Actually, that’s not true. Many successful couples I know started off as “just friends” and become something more after some drunken make-out session. But, aside from inebriated birthday kisses, how does one successful manage that transition? Broaching the subject could ruin the friendship.

This makes me think about my first crush, in third grade. Casey had deep blue eyes, lots of freckles and short brown hair with a few curls sitting on his forehead. I thought he was the dreamiest boy in my tiny world.

That crush didn’t go well. My brother, having gleaned my intense infatuation from my diary, played a very mean trick on me. He wrote a note, pretending it was from Casey, professing feelings for me. I got all blushy and excited and nearly went down the street to tell Casey that I liked him, too.

Luckily, my mom intervened.

Sometimes a crush is more fun when it’s a secret.

