On a historic day such as today, who doesn’t have politics on the brain?

In college, I dated a staunch Republican for about a month. Lance was so politically motivated that he planned to run for office someday. He had elephants all over his apartment and a framed picture of himself and George H.W. Bush hanging in his bedroom.

I’m neither Republican nor Democrat. (I think both parties have their issues, thanks.) But it was interesting to date someone with such strong convictions, many of with which I did not agree.

My lack of passion for Lance – not his politics – ended our relationship. But have you ever broken up with someone over their politics? Darren and I argued about politics, but we both enjoyed the arguments as intellectual discussions. For me, it’s not a dealbreaker to find someone who agrees with me about every topic – especially politics. What do you think?

