I am the perpetual single girl. I had one boyfriend in high school, which lasted about one month before I dumped him. In college, I had a handful of less-than-three-months-long relationships, which ended due to geography or my disinterest.

After school, I moved to a tiny Tennessee town. There were few men in my age group. Still, I did manage, near the end, to date Mike for five months, four of which were long-distance.

I moved to Raleigh in July 2007. At the time, I was told it’s a great place to be single. I assumed this meant it had a lively nightlife and plenty of single twenty- and thirty-somethings. I was right.

But what I’ve also found is that you’re not single for long. Or at least, I wasn’t.

Within three weeks I’d had my first date with a man I’ll call Frank. (Aliases will always be used in my blog to protect the innocent.) He was only my second serious relationship and it lasted more than one year.

Exactly one month after we broke up – he said never, ever wants to get married or have children – I went on my first date with my next serious boyfriend.

There’s nothing quite like getting dumped to bruise your ego. I’ve had this “honor” twice in the past four months. While I’ve come to realize that the end of Frank and I was for the best, I’m still confused about the end of the second, whom I’ll call Darren.

Now, I could drown my sorrows in a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. (My favorite flavor is Everything But The.) Instead, I choose to use this time to my advantage.

I got my groove back the other week, that old Susie W. feeling I remember from college – fierce independence and a love of freedom. It’s good to remember that feeling.

So I will blog. I think there’s too much verbal diarrhea on the Internet, most of it completely useless. I can’t promise this won’t be. But if you somehow find your way to this page, I hope you will converse with me about single life in Raleigh, for men, for women, as we work on our careers and as we continue to figure out what we want in life.

Heck, maybe one of us will learn something along the way.

So here is to my new beginning. I start with a question: what is the best thing that ever happened to you after or as the result of a breakup?

